Friday, 26 June 2015

Recognition for Cox, Webber and Pinfield

The Information School would like to congratulate the following members of staff on their recent achievements:

Andrew Cox is now a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Sheila Webber has been invited to join the Steering Committee for the European Chapter of Global Alliance for Partnerships on Media and Information Literacy (GAPMIL). GAPMIL is a UNESCO initiative to promote international cooperation to ensure all citizens have access to media and information competencies.

Stephen Pinfield has been asked to join the new Expert Group on Science 2.0/ Open Science set up by the European University Association (EUA). Stephen was nominated for this role by UUK following their sponsoring of his recent research project on open access, conducted with Professor Peter Bath.

The Expert Group on Science 2.0/Open Science will build on and extend previous EUA’s work in the area of open access, namely the creation of a task force on open access in 2012, composed of experts representing three National Rectors’ Conferences. This task force was created in the context of the Memorandum of Understanding signed between EUA and the European Commission and its aim was to monitor developments in the area of open access and provide support to EUA in European-level dialogues on this matter. However, given the increasing complexity and wide range of issues related to the digital agenda and its implications for universities, EUA has decided to enlarge the task force and create an Expert Group on Science 2.0/Open Science, which will focus on a broader range of issues such as text and data mining and big data.

No comments: